Ken Griffey Jr. hits number 600

At TwoNateShow.com, we’d like to congratulate Ken Griffey Jr. for hitting his 600th home run last night against the Florida Marlins.  Ken Griffey Jr. is only the sixth player in Major League history to reach this feat.  The other five are Barry Bonds, Hank Aaron, Babe Ruth, Willie Mays, and Sammy Sosa. 

Who will hit the next 600th home run?  Here are a list of active players who are well on their way:

Name

Home Runs

Age

Alex Rodriquez

527

32

Frank Thomas

520

40

Jim Thome

519

37

Manny Ramirez

504

36

Gary Sheffield

483

39

 

4 Responses to “Ken Griffey Jr. hits number 600”

  1. Heard some guys on the radio this morning (Dimino at 790 the Zone) ask the following question:

    Has anyone else ever achieved something so historic, so monumental within the context of their careers, and instead of everyone shouting how great the moment was, they instead shook their heads and said, “What might have been…”?

    600 – au natural, the way you’re supposed to do it – is an amazing stat. Yet, in our era of inflated numbers, inflated egos and inflated bodies (*cough, cough, barrybondssammysosamarkmcguire, cough, cough*) this somehow seems cute – “Good thing for Junior, but ho-hum. If only he hadn’t been hurt as much as he was…”

    Such a sad response to a reportedly good guy doing something extraordinary the right way.

    And for the record – there’s not a name on the list of who’s next in line that gets me excited. I wouldn’t cry if all of them somehow ended up with pulled groins that forced them to retire from the game prematurely.

  2. I love Ken Griffey Jr. When I was a kid he and Don Mattingly were my two favorite baseball players. The time my father took me to meet him in person is one of my fondest childhood memories. When we buy a house, and I finally have a place to display all my sports memorabilia, the bat he signed for me that day will be one of the pieces I’m most proud to show off.

  3. twonateshow Says:

    Shane, thanks for your post. There is definitely something special about “The Kid”. And it seems to me like there was not as much hoopla surrounding his 600th home run, which is really a shame. Lets see if he stays around long enough to reach 700…

  4. I would like to see him reach 700 he’s my favorite player because I would like for him to break barry bonds record, while he’s still swinging

Leave a Reply

