The Philosophy of Sports

Athletes are human, just like all of us.  Which means sometimes they have very insightful things to say and sometimes they say things that make you wonder if they ate paint chips as a kid (thanks Tommy Boy).  I must admit, I’ve been there.  I mean not literally – I stayed away from paint chips, glue, and most magic markers.  But thankfully I’m insignificant enough that no one cares about my quotes, so I don’t have to put them on this list.  But the sports figures I’m about to mention aren’t so lucky.

Today we’re going to look at both the clever and confusing quotes that have come out of the sports world.  So without any further delay, here is the TNS list of some of the best sports quotes. (My apologies to the likes of Yogi, Shaq, and anyone else gutsy enough to let themselves be quoted in the press for not being on this list. I just thought I’d throw in some new quotes 🙂 )

10. The sun doesn’t shine on the same dog’s butt every day but we sure didn’t expect a total eclipse. – Steve Sloan

9.  We can’t win at home. We can’t win on the road. I just can’t figure out where else to play! – Pat Williams

8.  Sure, luck means a lot in football. Not having a good quarterback is bad luck. – Don Schula

7.  The Yankees are only interested in one thing, and I don’t know what that is. – Louis Polonia

6.  Any time Detroit scores more than 100 points and holds the other team below 100 points, they almost always win. -Doug Collins

5.  “I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father” -Greg Norman

4.  They say a tie is like kissing your sister. I guess that is better than kissing your brother. – Lou Holtz

3.  We’re going to turn this team around 360 degrees.  – Jason Kidd

2.  Left hand, right hand, it doesn’t matter. I’m amphibious. – Charles Shackelford

1.  Sure.  I’m proud to be an American. – Steve Foster, when asked by a Canadian customs agent if he had anything to declare.

3 Responses to “The Philosophy of Sports”

  1. Nathan! No Yogi? No Shaquille O’Neal? No Gary McCord?

    How about this one:

    When asked by a reporter why the University of Alabama spent so much money on football while a chemistry lab couldn’t get funding, the immortal Bear Bryant repsonded, “Because 80,000 never paid to see some kid take a dadgum chemistry test.”

  2. Graceful Lee Says:

    I’m sorry to say I’m old enough to having heard the #2 quote by Charles Shackelford. Equally sad, many a sports scribe either played deadpan to his flexible lexicon or gave a nod to marine life on the court.

    And ditto to Jason, wondering if there’s room for Yogi Berra: “Baseball is 90 percent mental, and the other half is physical.”

    And philosophically speaking, “When you arrive at a fork in the road, take it.”

    blogon, twonates!

  3. twonateshow Says:

    Agreed, it’s difficult to have a true top ten list without Yogi being mentioned. I didn’t include him in this one only because we’ve heard so many of his quotes and I was wanting to go with some new ones. So with all that in mind, I’ve changed the article so that it’s 10 of the best, rather than implying that they are the undisputed 10 best. 🙂

    Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

